Secret Teacher: becoming an academy destroyed my school | Teacher Network | The Guardian

 

The government wants schools to join multi-academy trusts, but I’ve seen the dark side: a culture of fear, failure and back-stabbing. I won’t work in one again

Source: Secret Teacher: becoming an academy destroyed my school | Teacher Network | The Guardian

One of the group has had similar and direct experience of working at an academy and added.

“Working for a Mat taught me a great deal – being surrounded by such toxic working practices has strengthened my beliefs about what is appropriate in a caring, vocational profession. There may be Mats out there that understand how to embody the core values of learning organisations but, having spoken to many other teachers, I don’t think my experience is uncommon.

The extraction of schools from local authority control seems to have created a series of fiefdoms whose self-made princes are almost totally unaccountable. One of most troubling aspects of all this has been that the schools in the Mat I worked in are being improved at a slower speed than if they were in the hands of an effective local authority.”

Leave a Reply

